Return to Home Page
Return to Home Page
Return to Home Page
Return to Home Page
Return to Home Page

The Web
MEAC Schools

The Midwifery Education Accreditation Council (MEAC) was established as a non profit corporation in 1991 by the National Coalition of Midwifery Educators.

MEAC's standards for accreditation were developed by expert midwifery educators from a variety of midwifery education programs and institutions in the United States.

The US Department of Education originally approved MEAC in 2001 as a federally recognized accrediting agency.

In December 2002, the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity recommended that the Secretary of Education renew the recognition of MEAC as a nationally recognized accrediting agency.

Accreditation by MEAC is a required element in enabling its accredited certificate and degree-conferring institutions to establish eligibility to participate in federal programs administered by the Department of Education under the Higher Education Act (HEA) of 1965, as amended.

In May 2003 the Secretary of Education granted continued recognition, for a period of five years, to MEAC as a nationally recognized accrediting agency for the accreditation and pre-accreditation throughout the United States of direct-entry midwifery educational institutions and programs conferring degrees and certificates, including the accreditation of such programs offered via distance education.

In February 2011, MEAC was notified by the USDE Assistant Secretary that the USDE continued the recognition of MEAC with a report due in March 2012.

^ top

Contact MEAC Midwifery Education Accreditation Council
1935 Pauline Blvd., Ste. 100B
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Phone: (360) 466-2080
Fax: (480) 907-2936
Site Map | Home © 2014 Midwifery Education Accreditation Council
Web Hosting: Eternity Web